When tracking time on mobile devices, your internet connection could be unstable or even disappear. This is where offline mode comes in for mobile devices - so team members can keep clocking in and out, even when in remote areas.
Offline entries in personal mode
How it works
When your device is offline, you can only clock in and out. Timesheets and the dashboard will be restricted when in personal mode - you will need to re-connect to the internet later to sync your offline time entries with your Jibble timesheet.
Offline view in personal mode
Personal mode limitations
When clocking in offline:
Activities/Projects are ignored (you can't select them)
Breaks are ignored (you can only clock in/out)
Auto-reminders are disabled
Auto-clock outs are disabled
GPS tracking is optional (depending on the device's GPS)
While activity tracking will not be available in offline mode, GPS tracking will depend on your mobile device's capability to receive GPS signal without an Internet connection.
If time tracking restrictions related to activity and GPS tracking are enabled, team members will be able to bypass these restrictions and add entries without activity or GPS info when offline.
Offline entries in kiosk mode
How it works
When your kiosk device is offline, you can only clock team members in and out, time entries will be synced with your Jibble timesheet once the device is connected to the internet.
Kiosk mode limitations
When clocking in offline, the limitations are similar to personal mode with the addition of:
Team member profile photos will not be shown in the kiosk namelist
Activity information will not be shown in the kiosk namelist
Kiosk settings is disabled
Speed mode is disabled
Identifying offline entries
When an offline time entry is added, it will be indicated on the time entry and daily timesheet as shown below:
The offline entry indicator on time entries seen from the daily timesheet
The offline entry indicator on time entries
Resolving offline time entry conflicts
When team members are clocking in offline, there is a chance that an admin or manager might add entries for them before the team member's offline entries are synced with their timesheet again. This could cause conflicts in the timesheet calculations, for example:
Lets say a team member forgets to clock out while at the office
He then remembers to clock out when in the car park where there is no internet connection.
He clocks out while offline and his manager who notices he hasn't clocked out, clocks out on behalf of the team member from the office.
When the team member's offline entry is synced, there will be 2 consecutive OUT entries on the timesheet.
So what happens now? The offline entry is shown on the timesheet but it isn't calculated. When an offline entry is in conflict with an online entry, the online entry is calculated in the timesheet instead while the offline entry will be highlighted with an 'Offline Conflict' icon as seen here:
The team member or manager can decide to let it be or delete either the offline or online entry which will resolve the conflict resulting in the timesheet will be recalculated and the offline conflict icon being removed.
Enabling offline mode
Offline mode is enabled by default for all organizations but can be disabled by the team owner or admin:
Navigate to Time Tracking settings on desktop.
In the Platforms section, uncheck the offline mode option as shown in the screenshot above.